And now for something completely different

The start of the new year has given me a little time before the children go back to school and I go back to teaching. With “Big Daddy” having some time off work, I was able to begin my New Year’s project. First on my list is something that I had bought at the Knitting and stitching show at Alexandra’s Palace back in October last year.

On one of the stalls was a lovely wall hanging of a Union Jack which had been designed by Liz Hands. The fabrics used were from the Moda collection Rural Jardin. I fell in love with the design and wanted to have a go a making it. However, the fabric is no longer available in the UK but, I was able to obtain a jelly roll from the US.

The instructions were a little hard to follow but I got there in the end, mostly by relying on the photograph rather than the instructions. So the quilt top is now assembled and I found some matching fabric from my local patchwork shop. The quilt now has batting and is basted, so the next step is the quilting. I think that I will stitch in the ditch, but which ditches I will stitch in remains to be seen.

Leave a Reply

