It’s been too long

 

Wow, so much has happened since my last post and I really must make more of an effort to write a bit more. 

Since the success of my top, I made another one in an Amy butler fabric for my holiday. We went on a family holiday to Jamaica as my Little Monkey was going to be a Bridesmaid. It was a fantastic holiday and one of the highlights was the chance that I had to swim with the Dolphins!

After our holiday, I did not have that much time for sewing; I was busy preparing for my return to teaching after having my two children. In addition to this, the Monkey and the Boy both started Pre-prep Nursery, so there were big changes in store for all of us.

A few weeks after my return to work I began to get sewing again. I wanted to use us some left over strips from a part-used Jelly roll that I had bought earlier in the year to make a table runner for my Mother-in -law.

So I set about making a small lap quilt for myself. (The first real project just for me!) The fabric was from Moda and was from the Hunky Dory collection. I decided that I wanted make a simple and quick quilt so settled on a simple strip/block design. It went together really well. But, when I came to choose the fabric for the backing I just could not decide. In the end I went for a green fabric which had small yellow flowers on it and used a yellow fabric for the binding. Originally, I wanted to pick out the pink or blue in the quilt but I could not find a fabric that matched well with the tones of the two colours, so in the end I went for a fabric and colour that I would not have normally chosen. I am really pleased with the final result. 

After this, I wanted to use up some scraps and my sister gave me a good idea by sending me the link for making some table mats which were made by simply sewing the scraps of fabric directly onto the quilt top. I had just enough white fabric and batting to make two mats. I made a red and pink one for my Mum for her birthday and I made a blue one for my Sister.

Leave a Reply

