Bags and hags

After the completion of the quilt for Grace, I embarked on a non-quilted project.

Lovely fabrics, yummy.

Previously I had bought a selection of fabrics which you can see in the picture. In addition to this, I now have several Amy Butler patterns for different tops and one for a reversible handbag and tote.

I decided to start the handbag. The pattern seemed fairly straightforward but I had not made anything like this before. I had not even cut out a pattern and then used it to cut out fabric before!

I took my time and slowly over the course of a couple of nights my project took shape. The hardest part was stitching the two sides of the handbag together in order to make it reversible. However, with this done, my project was complete.

The completed handbag

The inside (reversible part) of the handbag.

With this project complete, I had a couple of  hours spare and my sister by my side to help me. I decided to have a go at making an Amy Butler stash bag, which is small enough to put a few bits of make-up in and my door keys. The fabric that I used was the same fabric as the Chelsea bag and as I had some left over so was able to put it to good use.

Again this project required me to insert a zip (using the zipper foot) and adding some pleats. After a couple of hours this project was also complete, thanks to the help of my wonderful sister. Now onto making some clothes.

Amy Butler stash bag

Leave a Reply

