Adding the strips

My next task is to sew the long strips together. This kind of goes against the normal assembly techniques/ methods that I have used and come across. The reason that you assemble the strips in this way is that the finished quilt looks like layers of bricks.

I carefully laid out my strips and placed them in an order that looks quite pleasing to me. Carefully I laid the wrong sides together of the first two strips and pinned them in place along the joins of each strip. Using the quarter inch foot on my machine I carefully sewed a seam along the long edge of the strip. I then removed the pins, pressed the stitches and had a look. I was pleased with the result.

That was last night. Tonight I continued.

The first few strips joined together.

I then joined several more together and this will be my work for the next few evenings I think.

My night's work.

One Response to “Adding the strips”

  1. looking good xxx

Leave a Reply

