Back to it

After a week or so of inactivity, I returned to my current project.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I decided to change the design of my daughter’s quilt. I am making a quilt from small rectangles of various fabrics, using the ones I had already cut up for my initial design. This will mean that the quilt is a larger version of the table runner that I had previously made.

Using the width and length measurements that I had already taken, it was possible to work out how many pieces of fabrics I would need, it would be well over 200! It took a long time but finally I had cut enough pieces.

The paired pieces of fabric

Now it was time to begin piecing the fabric rectangles together. I sorted the strips into colours and then began to randomly pair them up. This done, I got my sewing machine out and started to sew the pairs together. I did a few, pressing the stitches and then pressing them open, before leaving it for the night.

Tonight, I got out the machine again to finish the mammoth task of piecing the pairs together. In the end I finished sewing the pairs using the chain-piecing method. This is a technique where you sew one pair of fabric pieces together and then without stopping or cutting the threads, sew the next pair and so on until you get a long chain of pairs all joined together. (It looks a bit like bunting). The advantage is that this method saves time and less thread is wasted. The disadvantage is that you have to be accurate with your seam allowances otherwise you will have to keep stopping!

All pieces are sewn together in pairs and my next job is to press the stitches and press open the seams. As I began to pack my things away, my machine (which had worked quite hard this evening) had somehow managed to trip the circuit breaker in the kitchen again. This is a bit worrying especially as this is going to be my largest project to date. On the up side, I got a new job on Friday so I may be getting a new machine in the very near future.

One Response to “Back to it”

  1. Interested to see how the chain piecing went. Does it speed things up much ? Xxx

Leave a Reply

